Thirteen Point One

So I’m trying to come up with the words to describe this weekend, and frankly, I’m failing.

The trip was amazing. I love New Orleans and I really enjoyed exploring it all over again. The city was full of runners, I don’t think I’ve seen so much tech gear while sitting at a bar – or anywhere else for that matter.

Since I don’t really have the words, I guess pictures will have to do.

20140201_155251

Adam, Erin and I at St. Louis Cathedral the day before the race.

20140201_121417

Nothing makes you feel quite like a herd of cattle than being number 16,623 out of 28,000 runners.
20140202_072524

It was very foggy during the race. At one point I couldn’t even see ten feet in front of me.
20140202_103158

We finished! My final time was 2:47:07. Adam finished in 2:11:34. I am so proud that he beat his goal by 20 minutes. And yes, I am only wearing one shoe. I got a really bad knot in the ball of my foot around mile 11 and I was working on getting it out when my mom wanted to take pictures. It certainly made the last couple miles more challenging than they normally would have been.
20140203_204542

New bling! And yes it’s on beads because New Orleans.

My cousin Erin has a lot of pictures of people during the race, but I was too busy trying not to die to take pictures. All five of the runners finished the race and I am so glad I got to spend the weekend running with my cousins.

Next time though, I go to New Orleans and actually drink – without running 13.1 the next day.

Next up:  Columbus Half Marathon in October and maybe the Plano Balloon Festival Half in September. That depends on if it conflicts with ALC 2014 though. I’m definitely going to train differently. More short runs, and getting my long runs up to 12 miles will make the last third of the race a lot easier, I think.

Music! My favorite song during the race was I Can Lift A Car by Walk The Moon.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

