Two Kinds of Pride

I have two things to talk about today.

First of all, I ran my longest distance yet yesterday, and it was definitely the toughest.

Five miles on a treadmill. (Thanks, Winter Storm Cleon.) In all reality, I thank God for this weekend, because while the weather was terrible and it was bitterly cold, we never lost power and we were lucky enough to be safe both times we ventured out to drive on the ice. Others were not as luckyΒ and I hope those still without power get it back soon.Β 

But anyway, the treadmill. So boring, and hard, thank goodness for this playlist. Really. It was hard not only because of the stagnant nature of the treadmill, but because there were a couple points where I really just wanted to quit. Around 3.5, and then again around 4 miles. It took a lot of mental energy to force myself to keep going.

But I did the whole 5 miles, and I am really proud of myself. For the first time I think, I’m letting myself feel proud of this accomplishment. I was thinking about it, and if you had asked me a month and half ago to run 5 miles, I would have laughed at you. It’s amazing to reflect back on how far I’ve come in such a short time.

Screenshot_2013-12-08-12-43-14

Secondly, I need to give a shout out to my cousin, friend, co-conspiritor and running peer-pressure coach, Erin, who ran in the BCS Marathon in College Station yesterday! Not only did she have the determination to train for a full marathon, but when the race she had originally planned on got cancelled due to ice (thanks,Β Winter Storm Cleon), she got in at the last minute for another race. And while I was a little disappointed I couldn’t be there to cheer them on, as I had planned on in Dallas, I cannot imagine going through all that, having a race cancelled, and not giving up, but signing up for a different race on three days notice, and then finishing!

I am so proud of her, and my Aunt Susan for finishing their first marathon. They have been a huge help in getting me into the world of running, helping me figure out training plans, races, gear and just providing overall moral support that I could not be more proud of them as they accomplish their goals.

1463413_10202611650758900_446500501_n

Leave a Reply

