My First Race

So it finally happened. After about 10 months of talking about running a 5K, this weekend I ran in the Shiner Beer Run 5K.

I don’t know if there is much to say except that it was cold,ย very cold. I learned I like running in packs, because peer pressure keeps me from walking too much. Also I run faster in the cold. I got a PR of 35:58 (previous PR for a 5K was 38 and change) and Adam blew everyone away by finishing in 23:49.

I really enjoyed seeing my cousins and family run the half marathon, and seeing them finish got me really excited for New Orleans in February.

But for now, here are some pictures. Keep in mind it was 37 degrees with 19 mph winds and a windchill around 27.

20131123_090952

IMG_820325538022065

FB_IMG_13852155353996300 (1)

Next up is an appointment with an orthopedist to look at my knee. I’ve been feeling some pain in the ligaments and I want to get it checked out sooner rather than later. Until then, I’ll be sitting out boot camp and (hopefully) just running to stay on track. The good news is it doesn’t really hurt when I run, so I’m trying to stay positive.

I’ll be in Ohio for Thanksgiving, hopefully hitting 5 miles over the weekend. I hope y’all have a great week and a very happy Thanksgiving! Don’t guilt yourself if you eat too much, it is a holiday after all. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

