Recipe: Spicy Edamame

I’m a very strange bird. I don’t know if y’all have realized that. If not, it was bound to happen soon.

But here’s the thing: I will walk past the dessert buffet every day in favor of salty and savory snackage. I prefer appetizers to desserts when eating out and I cannot count the number of times I have thrown my weight loss train off course because when I crave snacks, I crave salt, and I do not care how terrible it is for me.

Enter edamame. And my relief that I can now have my salt and eat it too.

Edamame, for the uninitiated (as I was no more than six months ago) are essentially immature soybeans. Kept in the pod, they are very popular in Japanese, Chinese and Hawaiian cuisine. Usually as an appetizer.

I can eat them all day long. Especially when boiled and tossed with this spice blend.

seasoned edamame pods

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 pound edamame pods, fresh or frozen.Β Note: this recipe is written for frozen pods, which can usually be found in the freezer case of the natural foods section of your grocery store of choice. If not, check out Sprouts or Whole Foods
  • 6 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon onion salt
  • 1 tablespoon garlic salt
  • cracked black pepper, to taste.

This is ridiculously easy, I promise.

  1. Fill a medium pasta pot with 6 cups of water and a couple pinches of salt. Put on the stove on medium-high heat, to get it to a steady boil.
  2. Pour in your frozen edamame and bring it back to a boil. Note: If you are using fresh edamame, please pay attention, these pods will cookΒ veryΒ quickly and after they boil, will probably be about 30-40 seconds away from being done
  3. Boil for 2-3 minutes, or until cooked about 90% of the way through.
  4. Pro-tip: pour the water and edamame into a colander in the sink and run cold water over it. This will stop the cooking process and greatly reduce your chances of over cooking them.
  5. Strain the edamame, getting the majority of the water off of them.
  6. Pour said beans into a medium bowl, and while they are cooled, but still damp, season with the red pepper, onion and garlic salt, salt and pepper to your tastes.
  7. Toss edamame in your seasoning mixture, lightly coating all the pods.

I went ahead and (before I could eat them all in one sitting) put them in plastic bags because these make most excellent office snacks. Much better than Doritos.

20131117_211154

Now store them in the fridge and bask in the glory of knowing that you can satisfy your salt cravings without derailing your new healthy lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

