Recipe Spotlight: Jalapeno Lime & Cilantro Shrimp

One of the great side effects of me eating a lot healthier and focusing on what is in my food is that I’m cooking at home a lot more. Which means I am trying new recipes and experimenting with new ways of cooking my favorite ingredients.

The bad news is that sometimes I serve my recipe tester slightly under cooked rice. Sorry, Adam!

I found this recipe on a website called Alaska from Scratch, which features a lot of really great recipes using fresh ingredients. We had it for a midweek dinner this week and I really enjoyed it. It was filling, but didn’t leave you feeling greasy or bloated.

IMG_20130508_192357

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon red chile flakes – optional, I didn’t have any on hand, so I just left them out.
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded and minced – Pro tip: The more membrane you leave behind, the spicier your jalapeño will be! Also, don’t touch your face after seeding it. Trust me on this one.
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped – I used roma tomatoes because I like the flavor better.
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 pound shrimp, peeled (I removed the tails, but that is up to your preference)
  • 1 lime, zested
  • juice of half the lime
  • 3 tablespoons cilantro, chopped
  • salt to taste
  • lime wedges, for serving

This recipe is pretty simple, despite the number of ingredients involved. It’s worth it I promise!

To a large skillet over medium-high heat, add the oil and butter. Stir in the red chile flakes.

Saute the onions and jalapeño until tender, 2-3 minutes. Add the garlic and stir until fragrant, but not browned, about 1 minute.

Toss in the tomatoes and cook until the tomatoes begin to break down and release their juices, another 2-3 minutes. Add the chicken broth and bring to a simmer.

Then, add the shrimp to the skillet and season with salt, cooking and tossing until shrimp just turn pink and are cooked through but still tender, being careful not to overcook.

Add the lime zest, lime juice, and cilantro. Taste for seasoning and add more salt as needed. Serve promptly.

I served this over brown rice, but it would be delicious with almost anything, and even on its own! I really think this would be wonderful inside corn tortillas.

I couldn’t help but thinking while I was cooking that this would have been delicious with an ice-cold Tecate.

One thought on “Recipe Spotlight: Jalapeno Lime & Cilantro Shrimp

  1. Pingback: Healthy Recipes from Pinterest | Fabulous 50's

Leave a Reply

