Recipe Spotlight: Squash & Zucchini Surprise

You’ll find out the surprise at the end.

So my dear friend Pamela hosts an annual potluck for her friends called “Pre-Thanksgiving Thanksgiving” in which we celebrate what most call “Friendsgiving”

Being the WeightWatchers-conscious cook that I am, I volunteered to bring a veggie side dish, as well as a veggie appetizer. (We’ll get to the appetizer in a later post).

So I made this:

squash

What I love about this is that it was so easy, and so healthy, and so delicious. So what I’m saying is yes, you can have it all. Plus it allowed me to use seasonal veggies, which I always try to do when possible.

Here’s what you need:

  • 4 yellow squash, sliced about half an inch thick.
  • 4 zucchini, sliced the same
  • Olive oil (just enough to grease the pan)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Thyme (fresh)
  • Rosemary (fresh, chopped)

That’s it!

So originally I was going to do this as a casserole in the oven, but then I realized that I had no idea how long the veggies needed to be cooked, so I put them in a large skillet over medium heat.

  1. Drizzle some olive oil in the pan, just to grease it up a tad. Wait for the oil to get nice and hot (you’ll be able to hear it sizzle).
  2. Drop in the zucchini. It’s a little denser, and will need just a little bit longer to cook.
  3. Once you finish putting in all the zucchini, stir it up and make sure the zucchini is starting to sweat and soften.
  4. After about a minute, drop in the squash.
  5. Add salt and pepper, and stir the whole mess. I stirred constantly, just because I didn’t know how fast everything was going to cook.
  6. Once the veggies are starting to sweat out (you’ll see the moisture in the pan become more watery, less oil-ey) add as much thyme and chopped rosemary as your heart desires. I love strong flavors, so I added about 8 sprigs of thyme and 3 or 4 sprigs of the rosemary.
  7. Did I mention this recipe will make your kitchen smell ahhh-mazing? Because it will.
  8. Let those cook down, keep stirring, and take off the heat when you’ve reached your desired level of cooked-throughedness. I just made up that word.

Since I was taking this to a potluck, I didn’t cook it all the way, but I poured it all into a square Pyrex baking dish and placed an extra sprig of rosemary on top, so it would look pretty.

That way, when you arrive at said event, you only need to pop that bad boy in the oven to warm it up.

Now for the surprise: This recipe is only 2 WeightWatchers Points+ total. 

Score one for the veggies.

This is also a great recipe to make if you know there are people attending with special diets. Vegetarians, vegans, Celiacs, lactose intolerance, etc. They love this.

Leave a Reply

