Recipe Spotlight: Roasted Grape Tomatoes

So I’m on vacation this week, which meant that last week I spent every moment that I wasn’t working cooking. I’ve been making a habit of keeping tons of fresh ingredients in my fridge for the past few weeks, and I didn’t want them to go to waste while I’m on vacation!

(Side note: yes, I am in Hawaii, and yes, I will post pictures as soon as I can find a Starbucks or something with an internet connection).

On to these amazing roasted tomatoes I made last Tuesday.

So here’s the weird thing about me and tomatoes. I strongly dislike raw tomatoes. But put them in a sauce or slow roast them with some garlic and I get weak in the knees.

So it’s actually not surprising that I had a pint of grape tomatoes in the fridge that I hadn’t even touched. Tuesday I decided to roast them. Because I love things roasted in olive oil and garlic. Seriously, that is heaven for me.

I actually made this recipe up myself, using my herb garden as inspiration.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 pint grape tomatoes
  • 4 large fresh basil leaves
  • 2 small sprigs fresh oregano
  • 1 cup olive oil (any kind)
  • 2 cloves of garlic

That’s it! Now preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

First, put the tomatoes and the garlic (sans wrapping) on a small baking sheet and drizzled them with 1 Tbsp of olive oil. Give them a toss in that, top them with some cracked black pepper and seasalt and voila! That’s the essentials of the prep work.

Roast them in the oven for about 15 minutes, turning them every 5 minutes or so. (You’ll hear when they start to talk, that’s a good thing!)

Meanwhile, take about 2/3 cup of olive oil, and put it in a medium bowl. Crush the fresh basil and oregano leaves in your fingers and let them steep in the oil while the tomatoes are cooking.

When the tomatoes are done, pour all of it, juices, garlic and everything into the oil. Let them sit for about 30 minutes. (Warning: this is the hardest part because they smell soooo good.)

After 30 minutes have passed, drain off the oil and refrigerate. (I saved the oil to use in a salad dressing later in the week.) This makes a great topping for toasted bread or crackers.

Or you can just eat them on their own. I certainly do.

Enjoy, and have a fabulous week!

Leave a Reply

