The perils of working out too hard.

I’ve always considered myself athletic. In build, in mindset and in practice.

But this is a story of caution against overestimating your limits.

I’ve been trying some new work out circuits, and been getting great results from them lately. Until Tuesday.

I was doing some new yoga positions and I fell. Now if you know me, you would know that isn’t a surprise and you would probably be laughing right now.

But I woke up yesterday with some tightness in my left leg, particularly in my hamstring, calf and ankle. The ankle soreness is nothing new to me, I’ve had problems with my left ankle since I played basketball in high school and then sprained it again rowing in college.

The tightness was so bad that I was forced to sit out of an ultimate frisbee game some friends had planned on playing last night.

So my message: don’t be afraid to try new workouts, they’ll stretch and strengthen muscles you didn’t even know you had. But be careful, and don’t push yourself, or you’ll end up like me, missing awesome games of ultimate frisbee and taking ibuprofen every 4 hours. And don’t be afraid of taking a day off of your work out routine. Your body needs rest as much as it needs exercise.

Leave a Reply

