The Healing Power of Running

I’ll be honest. It’s been a tough couple of weeks. First my grandfather passed away, and then I lost my job. Now, as I begin this new chapter in my life, I’m finding I’m taking the lessons I’ve learned on the pavement to heart.

“I run because it’s so symbolic of life. You have to drive yourself to overcome the obstacles. You might feel that you can’t. But then you find your inner strength, and realize you’re capable of so much more than you thought.”
-Arthur Blank

I don’t want to dwell on the past. I want to focus on the tasks at hand. Going on interviews, getting my runs in, preparing for New Orleans and being with my family. That is what’s important to me now.

In the mean time, here is what I look like when going for a run in 30 degrees with 20 mph winds. I don’t wish these conditions on my worst enemy.

Messenger_5825647778857505344_13889426658111939

I don’t think Erin knew how soon I would need the headband she got me for Christmas. Also busting out my still-technically-inaccurate Polar Dash Finisher fleece.

For the record, I’m wearing compression pants, a sweat wicking tank (adidas), a tech tee, sweatshirt and fleece. The hood of my sweatshirt was up for the majority of the run because the wind was insane. If you are wondering about a birthday present for me, I could really use some warmer running pants.

But the determination I used to push through this run tells me that I will get over these obstacles. I will be stronger, I will be better. I will finish this run. Mile by mile, I can feel my life return to normal. Mile by mile, I am regaining control of my life.

Running Song of the Week

I love Fitz & the Tantrums and this week they made me think. Tell Me What Ya Here For. What are you here for?

One thought on “The Healing Power of Running

Leave a Reply

