On Fuel and Recovery

I will be totally honest with y’all. This weekend’s run sucked. It was long, and slow, and while the weather was fantastic, my legs were just not in the mood for a five miler through the hills of North Texas. Yes, I measured and there was a hill that had a 62 foot incline over the span of a mere .8 miles. 

Untitled

I may be a little bitter because I hate running hills so much and there will be zero hills in New Orleans so I don’t see why I should be forced to run on them at all. Okay maybe I’m a lot bitter about this.

In all reality, the major suckitude of my run this weekend was my own damn fault and I know it. In a rush to get my run done and over with (and head out to get my Christmas shopping done with my friend Pamela), I failed to properly prep for my run. Which means I went out without eating breakfast or even having a glass of water. Oops. It did not help that my dinner the night before consisted of sushi, and while super delicious and full of protein, not ideal for carb loading before a run.

As a result my legs felt stiff and heavy and did not want to move. My knee was aching and it took a lot longer than usual to loosen up. Lesson learned, breakfast is good, carbs are good. Right. Fuel. That thing I keep talking about.

Luckily I did make it through, as hard as it was. I guarantee you if I was on the treadmill I would have quit, but one perk of running outside is that if I want to get home eventually, I have to finish my run. I got home and chugged a protein shake and felt instantly better. It was magical and just proved that all I needed was to fuel up properly.

Partly as a result of my poor nutrition before my run, my legs and feet felt beyond stiff for the rest of the day. I was coming to the realization that I would have to ice down every muscle from the thigh down if I wanted to walk on Monday.

And that’s how I ended up in my first ice bath.

Which was kind of magical. I mean it hurt like hell. Like holy hell it was COLD. And it took me forever to warm up afterwards, because well, I had just submerged the lower half of my body in just-above-freezing water for twenty minutes. But I felt amazing the next morning. Very minimal stiffness in my calves, zero pain in my feet or knees. This may become a Sunday night ritual for me.

RSOTW: Today’s song is What You Know by Two Door Cinema Club. It speaks to me mostly because of the opening lines:

“In a few weeks I will get time
To realise it’s right before my eyes
And I can take it if it’s what I want to do
In a few weeks I am leaving, this is starting to feel like
It’s right before my eyes
And I can taste it, it’s my sweet beginning

6 weeks until New Orleans.

2 thoughts on “On Fuel and Recovery

  1. You’re doing great! Running is the metaphor for life – you just overcame some really big obstacles and I’m really proud of you.

Leave a Reply

